photo by Bob Burchess

The Chris Duarte Group will kick off a big, fat U.S. tour in July after they get
back from Poland. The band performed a couple new songs (see reviews below)
at recent gigs, among other surprises - all leading up to a new studio recording
by the band sometime soon! Chris Duarte sent an e-mail about the latest tour which
is below along with wonderful photos by John Dadalt and Phillip Smith. Grab some
friends and go catch a show, you'll hear new songs and more sonic mayhem from
by the seasoned powerhouse rhythm section of Dustin Sargent and John McKnight!
Please send in some concert reviews and photos for the 'ol Reviews page at
cdgfans@ix.netcom.com
or you can also mail them to:
Chris Duarte Group Fan Club, 939 Revere Street, Aurora, CO 80011


Well hey everybody out there,
I'm sitting here inside my 'Fortress of Solitude' listening to the new tracks for the new album that will be coming out probably sometime around early October at the latest. Even in a rough format, most without melodies and scratch vocals cuz' we just went in with the intention to record only the bass and drums and if time allowed I would be able to tackle some of the rhythm guitars. We only had less than a week but with our nose to the grindstone and our attitudes in a good place we banged out 14 new songs. A few we've already been playing out on the road; Angry Man, the 'D' shuffle song I begin some sets with, now called Jump the Trane, but the majority are brand new so that's why I've sequestered myself in my fortress to better focus my attention on completing these new songs. Wish me luck.
We also just came off a long-weekend tour from the Midwest which started at Mojo's in Columbia, Missouri. It's been a while since I've played the room and Mojo's still has that vibe to it; anything goes there musically. The staff was great and although the crowd was small, they made up for it in enthusiasm. I gotta' mention how nice the hotel was that they put us up in; the Tiger Hotel. With the rep of being the tallest building in town, it certainly lived up to the height or should I say "haute" for the interior was just like one of those special boutique hotels in the big city. Really nice inside. I was impressed. Somebody spent a lot of money on that renovation. We were happy.
We sped off to Lincoln, Nebraska for Thursday at the Zoo Bar, one of the original clubs where CDG started touring. We had this straight North/South trajectory; Arlington, Texas; Norman, Oklahoma; Lawrence, Kansas and then Lincoln, Nebraska. Then we'd turn around and go home and do it all again the next month and that's how it all started. The club looks just about the same and a Boehmer still owns part of it as does Pete, "Red" who was a bartender there for years and years. There's nothing like it when the place is packed and people are on three sides of the square stage. Then people sitting against the wall start standing on their chairs giving the club a tiered appearance from where I stand on the stage, and the air gets thick from all the people in there and the sweat rolls off my arms and drips from my knuckles and hair and I dig deeper and deeper drawing off the frenetic energy of the dancers all around moving and gyrating to the beat. We didn't have a packed house this night but we had the dancers and it was just as good. Not to forget mentioning that the Ladies restroom is right parallel with the left corner of the front of the stage, and in the course of the evening gig you pretty much get a good sampling of what females are in attendance. The bathroom is a one-at-a-time, so you see them waiting for their turn to relieve the call of nature. Interesting attribute of the Zoo Bar.
A leisurely drive up north on I-29 finds our next destination at the Chesterfield in Sioux City, Iowa. A club situated in the downtown area, I like the place. Long straight club like the Zoo Bar but with modern amenities and a bigger stage. The night we were playing coincided with an event called 'Biker Weekend' outside across the street. The Chesterfield actually had two or three bands going on in its spacious confines. We were the 'inside' band, inside the club obviously, and some 'outside' bands, you get the picture. Across the street was a regular big size festival stage where Marshall Tucker was the main act for the night. I thought it was funny when we pulled up and upon approaching security, for they had the whole street blocked off for the Biker event, after we proved our identities I heard one of the girls working security ask, "Are they Marshall or Tucker?" We had an opening local band inside and the name, "Premium Draft" was not conjuring up good expectations, even with the word 'Premium' in the name, I was keeping my opinions to myself. As the opening band played on for what seemed like an eternity, we wiled away the time by people-watching outside and catching a couple of tunes by the legendary Marshall Tucker. The other outside band that we watched was playing for a more younger musical palate. Pyschoslobber might've been their name. They were fun. We finally hit the stage and I discovered my tuner was missing. The opening band guitarist on my side did have one tuner just like mine but I couldn't prove it was mine so I capitulated and asked to borrow it for the show and then I promptly returned it to his bag after we were done. I was hoping the guitarist would discover my tuner somewhere after he sobered up from all the 'Premium Draft' and other various libations he consumed during his Après-gig time but I've yet to hear from him. *sigh*
Across the growing cornfields of Iowa we made our way to Cedar Rapids, Iowa for the Irish Fest. This was apropos cuz' I actually do have Irish lineage in me; the Tom family from Ulster Ireland. John is McKnight; pretty solid there and Dustin, well he's got red hair. That qualifies right? Kris Lager had the slot right before us and he's come a long way since the days I knew him as a kid in Lincoln. He's really maturing into a fine player. Later on in our show I got him up on stage with me and we had a good old-fashioned jam session. We were also joined by Kris' organist and then it was on. I went right into a Chicago-style shuffle and just chunked out some horn-like choppy chords. Lots of fun. Dancing on the pavement all were happy.
Next we headed off in a southwest direction to the eastern suburbs of KC - Blue Springs, Missouri, for the Trouser Mouse (I know, the name can be very visual, you don't have to remind me). We had our dedicated following out at our show and I was in a loosey- goosey mood - I quoted Shakespeare as I changed a broken string, beguiled the crowd with anecdotes from lives past and chirped witticisms and observations as the evening rolled on. It was a good way to end the run.
...And All were Happy!

- Chris Duarte

 

 

IRISH DISTRICT MUSIC & ARTS FESTIVAL
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
6/21/14

These great photos were taken by Phillip Smith

 

 

THE ZOO BAR
Lincoln, Nebraska
6/19/14


1st Set: C-Butt Rock / Ridin' / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It's You / Screenwriter's Blues
Open Up Your Back Door / Sweet Little Girl / Leave My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee
Let's Have A Party / I Bucked It Up / Carelessness
2nd Set: Shuffle In D / The Best That I Can Do / Big-Legged Woman / Angry Man
I Love You So Madly / Make Me Feel So Right / Hold Back the Tears / Crazy / My Way Down
It Comes To Me Naturally / Cleopatra - Like Eric
Encore: People Say

After an absence of more than two years, Chris Duarte and his band of merry men arrived back in Lincoln. I've seen the band a few times since, at Knucklehead's in Kansas City and last year in Burlington Iowa, but there's nothing likes some hard rockin' blues in The Zoo Bar! I was also warmed to see that the photo on the concert poster was one that I had taken at Knucklehead's two years ago! Chris started off by paying tribute to The Zoo Bar as one of a trio of bars that consistently booked him back in his early days and then launched into the opening song "C-Butt Rock". Chris and the band played a combination of both old and new songs and mixed in danceable numbers with instrumentals that pretty near burned off our eyebrows. For me the highlights were the first set ending "Carelessness" (which sounds just as good without the violin that accompanies Chris on the CD) and the encore "People Say" which included a long solo and forays into riffs that were at once familiar yet brand new. There were several songs that were unfamiliar to me, which I assume will find their way on to the new CD. All said, a great show, and I look forward to the band's return in August!

- review and photos by Tom Joyce

 


 

 

 

 

 

THE TUPELO MUSIC HALL
Londonderry, New Hampshire
5/30/14


Shuffle In D / Yes, It's You / Open Up Your Back Door / Outta' My Way
Show Me That You Want It / Sweet Little Girl / I Bucked It Up
My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee / It Comes To Me Naturally
Letter To My Girlfriend / Angry Man / Big-Legged Woman
Screenwriter's Blues / My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric
Encore: The Best That I Can Do / Hold Back The Tears
I Love You So Madly / People Say

- photos by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE HUNGRY TIGER
Manchester, Connecticut
5/29/14


1st Set: Slapstak / What Can I Do? / Big-Legged Woman / Yes, It's You / Show Me That You Want It
Crazy / Bottle Blues / Here I Come / Sweet Little Girl / Leave My Soul Alone / Fire's Gone Out
Angry Man / I Bucked It Up / Shuffle In D
2nd Set: Let's Have A Party / Let's Have A Party / Do The Romp / Ridin' / I'll Never Know
Love You So Madly / Screenwriter's Blues / Kohima Ridge / For No One / Open Up Your Back Door
Sundown Blues / My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric

More cool photos from John Dadalt!


 

 

 

 

THE BIDWELL'S HOUSE
Coventry, Connecticut
5/24/14


1st Set: Birthday / Bb Blues / Hideaway / Big-Legged Woman
Outta' My Way / Letter To My Girlfriend / Ridin'
Open Up Your Back Door / Peace In Mississippi / Leave Her Be
Angry Man / Borrowed Love / Just Kissed My Baby
It Comes To Me Naturally / Scrawl / For No One
Let's Have A Party / What Can I Do? / Tailspin Headwhack
Shiloh / Still I Think Of You / Crazy / C-Butt Rock
2nd Set: Do The Romp / Kohima Ridge
One More Cup Of Coffee / My Way Down / Sundown Blues
Wish You Were Here / Drivin' South / Star-Spangled Banner

This is from Mel Bidwell's 60th birthday party last night. Killer show...almost 4 hours of music, including the entire "Texas Sugar/Strat Magik" disc! I grabbed "Peace In Mississippi" with my phone and uploaded it to YouTube. Great stuff...enjoy!

- Mark McKay, with photos by John Dadalt

...and here's another YouTube link from this show!

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CHAN'S
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
5/23/14


1st Set: Shuffle In D / Angry Man / Show Me That You Want It
Crazy / I Bucked It Up / Fire's Gone Out
Open Up Your Back Door / Sweet Little Girl
Leave My Soul Alone / Kohima Ridge / For No One
Yes, It's You / Leave Her Be / Azul Ezell
2nd Set: Hideaway / The Best That I Can Do
Letter To My Girlfriend / Watch Out / I Love You So Madly
Hold Back The Tears / Satisfy / Carelessness
Let's Have A Party / Make Me Feel So Right / My Way Down
Cleopatra - Like Eric

- photo by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MOONDOG'S
Blawnox, Pennsylvania
5/18/14


What a gig! Several brand new songs, Beatles and Jimi tunes I'd never heard him do.....amazing! Man Oh Man! And that was just one gig. I so wish that I could have seen more. Enjoy the video!

- Arthur Creech

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE 702 BAR
Las Vegas, Nevada
1/23/14

Here's some photos of the show taken by Bob Burchess. This was the band's first time playing at this club.

 

 

 

THE CRYSTOLA ROADHOUSE
Crystola, Colorado
1/18/14


1st Set: New Instrumental / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It’s You / Still I Think Of You / Crazy
Tailspin Headwhack / It Comes To Me Naturally / I Bucked It Up / It's Quittin' Time / Ridin'
Open Up Your Back Door / One More Cup Of Coffee / Carelessness

2nd Set: Big-Legged Woman / The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Leave My Soul Alone
Sundown Blues / Screenwriter's Blues / Manic Depression / Catfish Blues / My Way Down / People Say

Here's some video clips of the show that were shot by Reverend Bob:

IT'S QUITTIN' TIME

RIDIN'

 

 

 

BART'S RECORD SHOP
In-Store Performance
Boulder, Colorado
1/18/14


Big-Legged Woman
Sweet Little Girl
It's Quittin' Time
(1st time performed live)
Just Kissed My Baby
Show Me That You Want It
Open Up Your Back Door
My Way Down

Here's some video clips of the show posted by Reverend Bob:

BIG-LEGGED WOMAN

SWEET LITTLE GIRL

JUST KISSED MY BABY

SHOW ME THAT YOU WANT IT

MY WAY DOWN

-photos by Rick Shaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE TOAD TAVERN
Denver, Colorado
1/17/14


1st Set: New Instrumental / Show Me That You Want It / Ridin' / Yes, It’s You
Scrawl / Open Up Your Back Door / Crazy / Outta' My Way / I Bucked It Up
Sweet Little Girl / Just Kissed My Baby / Let's Have A Party / Live For Tomorrow
Do The Romp / Carelessness
(1st time performed live)

2nd Set: Hideaway / Screenwriter's Blues / Tailspin Headwhack
The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Bottle Blues
Letter To My Girlfriend / Watch Out
Leave My Soul Alone - Blue Jean Outlaw
(1st time performed live)
My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric /
Encore: Wish You Were Here

The Chris Duarte Group pounded out an intense 3-hour show after driving over 600 miles from Missouri to Colorado (the day before they had also driven over 600 miles from Atlanta to Missouri!). This was my first time seeing drummer John McKnight and I was blown away. Not since seeing Frosty play back in 1995 has there been a drummer with such power and finesse. John has been drumming a long time and is a real pro, a drummer's drummer. He adds another gear to the band's sound and also contributes background vocals on several songs such as "Outta' My Way" and "I Bucked It Up". It's always great to see Dustin Sargent on the bass. He is such a natural fit to Chris' playing and he and John McKnight make a lethal rhythm section for Chris to play with, against, and on top of.
Sporting his gold-flaked guitar and shorter hair-do, Chris eased into the show with a new instrumental track I hadn't heard before. He then downshifted into several newer songs and never looked back. Everyone was sweating by the second or third song. Chris always plays at his best when he's backed by a solid, confident band, one that frees him up to just play and has his back on each and every song. The entire show was riveting, intense, and professionally played with power to burn. They played so hard it was emotionally draining to just watch, kind of like watching MMA in the octagon. Several times I just closed my eyes in order to listen to the song and not watch the musical storm onstage. Paul Barnstable from the band Another Mother sat in on a couple songs and went toe-to-toe with Chris. It wasn't just a throwdown, they complimented each other very nicely. The first set ended with a free-form instrumental that took me awhile to realize that it was "Carelessness" but without the electric violin! This was the first time this song has been performed live and we were treated to another debut performance of "Blue Jean Outlaw" which was very effectively tacked onto the end of "Leave My Soul Alone"! This combination worked really well together and made for a poignant ending. Several songs had extended solos and the 3-hour show ended with a nice version of Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here". I felt like a wrung-out towel after watching the Chris Duarte Group tear up the Toad and I'm sure they were exhausted and looking forward to a good night's sleep and a day with very little driving! A great show by a killer band!

Here's some video clips of the show provided by Reverend Bob:

RIDIN'

SCRAWL

OPEN UP YOUR BACK DOOR

-review by Craig Keyzer, photos by Rick Shaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VARIT
Kobe, Japan
11/8/13



VARIT is one of the best live venues in Kobe and Chris has played here a few times before with Bluestone. The Chris Duarte Group played two-and-a-half hours with several new songs. I loved "Leave My Soul Alone", a heavy tune that grooves like hell. I enjoyed Chris's excellent blues/rock sound with psychedelic grooves and a touch of jazz. The last song was "People Say" which became a long outro-psychedelic-jam session! Incredible, impressive, awesome! It was a fantastic show! I hope they come back soon.

-photos and review by Megumi Iuchi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TAKUTAKU
Kyoto, Japan
11/7/13


TAKUTAKU was once a sake brewhouse and is now one of the city's most popular live venues. Chris Duarte has cut his hair short and was playing a gorgeous glittered XOTIC guitar. His guitarwork is more and more amazing each time he comes to Japan. The new drummer, John McKnight, is the best of both worlds - a very cool drummer as well as a good singer. In the middle of the show, before the song "Hold Back The Tears" (which he played with Bluestone), Chris asked for donations for the 2011 earthquake and tsunami disaster and many people donated. I was glad to see that and really appreciated everyone's thoughtfulness. Thanks Chris and all the fans!

-photos and review by Megumi Iuchi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ABILENE BAR & LOUNGE
Rochester, New York
8/25/13


It's been awhile since I've seen blues rocker Chris Duarte perform and I remember him as more of a blueser than the progressive bruiser I saw play at Abilene Sunday night. The show, a stop on his "My Soul Alone Tour 2013," was initially slated for the patio. But given the fear that Duarte's Stratocaster would stratocast and bust clouds, causing it to rain, management horsed the whole affair indoors. Duarte rocked the crowd as if it was one big bag of Shake 'n' Bake ("And we helped"). Working within the flexible confines of his three-piece band, Duarte took songs based on a riff -- often a blue one -- and explored and enjoyed and extrapolated it, frequently giving a toggle-switch tour along with all his stomp boxes and their myriad purr, growls, and screams. Duarte doesn't shy away from the mic either, and I imagine he needs to give his fingers a reprieve. So songs like "I Bucked It Up" were sing-along crowd pleasers for the mostly male, cargo-shorts-wearing crowd, which also needed a break, what with all the air-guitaring, fist-pumping, and head-banging going on. A blend of Stevie Ray and Jimi, Duarte proved song after song (including his expert stab at "Manic Depression") why he is up there and out there on the upper deck when it comes to the classic American guitar hero.

-review by Frank DeBlase, Rochester City Newspaper

 

 

 

 

GILLY'S
Dayton, Ohio
7/10/13


1st Set: Hideaway / Ridin' / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It’s You / Scrawl / I Bucked It Up
Bottle Blues / Leave My Soul Alone / Sweet Little Girl / One More Cup Of Coffee / 101

2nd Set: The Best That I Can Do / Outta' My Way / Make Me Feel So Right / Big-Legged Woman
.32 Blues / Satisfy / Paper Dolls / Still I Think Of You / Let's Have A Party / Manic Depression
My Way Down / Cleopatra

The band played a great deal of the new CD "My Soul Alone" to an appreciative Dayton audience. It was great to see and hear Dustin back on the bass. With Mr. Sargent and Mr. Dave Anthony, the bottom end was in very capable hands, allowing Chris to do his thing. "Bottle Blues" continues to be the jewel of whatever set that it gets played in. And the song "Leave My Soul Alone" has even more of an "off the rails" feel to it live, with body language really speaking volumes. Played back to back on this night, the two aforementioned songs provided a solid twenty minutes plus of deliciously intense guitar playing. Check out the videos below to see what I mean. It was unbelievably physical. It was insanely dramatic. It was a typical Wednesday night for Chris Duarte. The highlight for me was seeing (and filming) "Manic Depression" for the first time in my 18 years of following this band. That was a REAL treat!!!

Here's some video clips of the show:

LEAVE MY SOUL ALONE

BOTTLE BLUES

MANIC DEPRESSION

-review by Arthur Creech

 

 

 

 

DON ODELL'S "LEGENDS" SHOW
Palmer, Massachusetts
6/25/13

The Chris Duarte Group made their second appearance on Don Odell's fabulous "Legends" show for a taped performance! The taping is filmed in high-definition with great sound to match. There's also an interview with Art Tipaldi in which Chris mentions that the next album will be a live album! Check out Don's YouTube site for clips from the performance here. And you can still purchase the very first "Legends" broadcast from 2010 here.

 

 

THE BRICKHOUSE
Scarborough, Maine
6/23/13


1st Set: Hideaway / Show Me That You Want It / Ridin’ / Big-Legged Woman / Yes, It’s You
I Bucked It Up / Bottle Blues / Crazy / Still I Think Of You / I’ll Never Know / Scrawl
Hold Back The Tears / 101

2nd Set: The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Outta' My Way / Empty Arms
Sweet Little Girl / Leave My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee / Let's Have A Party
Sundown Blues / My Way Down / Like Eric / People Say

Boom, Boom, Out Go The Lights! Chris Duarte is a Texas bluesman who infuses his blues with a bit of jazz, creating a style that is all his own. The Brickhouse is a small venue, which is actually not a venue at all but the basement of a house in the middle of a wooded lot where they hold house concerts. To get into the events you have to be invited or know someone. The Brickhouse seats roughly 60 people, has a small stage, a sound system, a few lights, and a greenroom equipped with beds for the band. Over the past couple of years homeowner Paul Williams has held some great shows from both national acts as well as many local acts. These have to be “Private Parties” or the town will give him flak for unlawful assembly or something to that effect. Friends attending can leave donations which all go to the band. Fans of the music will often buy a lot of merchandise, T-shirts, CD’s and posters from the bands which also help with their expenses. Chris hit the stage promptly at 6 p.m. and, along with Dustin Sargent on bass and Jon McKnight on drums, played a 90-minute set of material spanning his 26 years of recorded material. Chris’ style is very unique, at times ripping through what seems like thousands of notes within a 30-second timeframe, and other times slowing it down and getting those deep bends that have been a signature of the blues. Each song was met with huge applause and cheers from the full house. After the set Chris announced that they would be taking a short break to sell some merchandise. After maybe 10 minutes, the rain outside started picking up and then BOOM! A crack of thunder shook the house and we were in the dark. Candles were lit, flashlights and cellphones alike illuminated the room, as we all sat and waited for the power to come back on. After maybe 15 more minutes in the dark, Chris announced that he would be continuing the show. A fellow patron and local musician had an acoustic guitar with him and as homeowner Paul started a generator, providing enough power to run the board and a light or two, Chris and company hit the stage again. Chris muscled his way through the first two songs of the set on the acoustic (which, along with the bass, was plugged directly through the board). Jokes were made about the work it was taking to bend the heavy strings of the acoustic, which are much heavier than the light electric strings. Dustin asked “Are we gonna do the next one?” apparently it was a new one and was very demanding on guitar, and on acoustic it was going to be a chore. Chris answered, “Shit yeah, I’m gonna soldier through this!" - and he did just that, not missing a beat. Someone brought up the fact that since the acoustic was plugged through the board, that his electric should be able to be plugged in and after a laugh and a headshake, insinuating, why didn’t I think of that? The show continued. Chris smiled and announced, “It's like running with legweights on!” Chris played a second hour-and-a-half to two-hour set and then left the stage before being called back for an encore. This show was great and you could really tell that Chris is just a guy who really likes to play his guitar. Where most bands would have taken the excuse of a power outtage to call it a night, especially after already playing for an hour and a half, Chris just wanted to play and was determined to give the audience everything they paid for and more. After the show Chris and band were treated to Lobster and Steamers, a traditional welcome in Maine.

-review by James Pappaconstantine

 

 

THE BIDWELL'S HOUSE
Willington, Connecticut
6/22/13


1st Set: Slapstak / Make Me Feel So Right / Scrawl
Open Up Your Back Door / Get Outta' My Way
I Bucked It Up / Sweet Little Girl / Bottle Blues
Yes, It's You / Show Me That You Want It
Manic Depression / Happy Birthday
Crazy / Screenwriters Blues / 101

2nd Set: Hideaway / I'll Never Know / Big-Legged Woman
Satisfy / Let's Have A Party / One More Cup Of Coffee
Leave My Soul Alone / Ridin' / Hold Back The Tears / Leave Her Be / The Best That I Can Do
Still I Think Of You / People Say / Empty Arms / Stratus / My Way Down / Cleopatra-Like Eric

What a night!! It was an unplanned show, the result of a scummy club owner canceling a gig 2 days before it was to happen. The club, The Alamo in Brockton, Massachusetts, is a dive bar that Chris has played twice before. The guy paid pretty well in the past, so Chris kept going there, but this time he backed out, leaving Chris & company with no gig on a Saturday night. Nice, eh? But enter longtime hardcore CDG fans Dave and Mel Bidwell. Their niece was having a college graduation party at their sister's house in Connecticut. After hearing from Chris about the cancellation, they made a couple of phone calls, getting both the OK and the sound equipment needed to pull it off, then went to Chris to ask about him playing the party. He shot them a price, they quickly agreed, and what took place was easily in the top 5 CDG shows my wife Gloria and I have seen...and we've seen a ton of them! After the show I mentioned to Chris that the performance and the vibe at the gig was on par with the Duarte Family Reunion shows in Eureka Springs. He agreed...the whole thing couldn't have been any cooler. It was at a house out in the sticks, a beautiful home with a huge backyard. The band set up under the raised deck, using their amps and a PA for the vocals. There were a few of us fans/friends from the New England area, but most people in attendance were Bidwell family members and friends who had never seen Chris. It was very cool seeing all these newbies getting into the music...folks ranging from teens to 70's, all getting into it. I personally "educated" a few folks about Chris, and told them about the 7/12 show at Chan's...which is about an hour from the house. I had a few people tell me they were going for sure! So in the end, everything worked out perfectly: The guys had a paying gig, the party had killer music that everyone was into, and we "family" members got treated to Chris laying it all out there...3.5 hours of the guys at their best. Speaking of the guys...Chris had John McKnight drumming for this New England run, and he was great. At the Bull Run show the night before, we chatted with Chris before the show and he said this guy was a great "get", that he's very highly sought after in the Atlanta area, and that he reminded him a lot of Frosty. I totally agree...John looked and sounded like he'd been playing with Chris and Dustin for years...and those were his first 3 shows. The guy is a real pro...and he sang lead vox on "Empty Arms"! This was a show for the ages, and it will not be soon forgotten! To watch some video of the show, click on these song titles:
Open Up Your Back Door
Manic Depression
Stratus
Empty Arms

-review and photos by Mark McKay

 


Hey y'all, remember to confirm the shows before roadtrippin'!

 

BACK