photo by Bob Burchess

 

 

 

 

The Chris Duarte Group is on the road across the good 'ol U.S. of A. in promotion of their latest album "Lucky 13" (get dates here). The band has been performing several new songs among other surprises. Grab some friends and catch a show, you'll witness sonic mayhem that can only be produced by the Chris Duarte Group! And please send in some concert reviews and photos at cdgfans@ix.netcom.com and I'll post them here. Or mail them to: Chris Duarte Group Fan Club, 939 Revere Street, Aurora, CO 80011 (I know it's often hard to write a review and get past the usual superlatives such as "Incredible!", "Blown away!", "Amazing!", so write about your roadtrip to the show or even what pants you wore!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


21st AMENDMENT SALOON
Omaha, Nebraska
3/5/15

As I pulled into the lot at the 21st Amendment, the first thing that I saw was the white CDG van with a pair of feet sticking out from underneath. We later found out that the feet belonged to Chris Duarte and that the van needed a new starter! What a multi-talented band! The Chris Duarte Group was in fine form, playing about 3 ½ hours, and regaling us with a mix of old and new including "Leave My Soul Alone", "One More Cup Of Coffee" and "Minefield Of My Mind" without a break inbetween. The rap version of "Screenwriter's Blues" was entertaining as always and the end-of-show combo of "Cleopatra-Like Eric" is a winner to close out the night. "People Say" as an encore can't be beat either.

- review and photos by Thomas Joyce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CODA CONCERT HOUSE
Joplin, Missouri
3/1/15

I tore the wall down between my kitchen and living room/dining room and turned it into a house concert venue. Found a couple theater curtains in Dallas that I cut to size to cover the walls, some LED stage lights, and a good sound system. Doesn't get much more intimate than that! :-) The show was awesome! Despite the snow, people were here from 7 states. Chris played from 5:30 - 9:30 p.m. to a great crowd that stayed the whole night and gave Chris the respect and attention he deserves. Dustin played the acoustic set on an old Kay stand-up bass we had waiting for him. The CDG are already rebooked for Sunday, March 6th, 2016! (Editor's note: Be there or be square!)

- comments from Jeff Morrow, photo by Jeremy Scherle

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chris Duarte prior to a meet-and-greet at Ripple in Roanoke, Virginia on January 9th.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE CRYSTOLA ROADHOUSE
Crystola, Colorado
12/6/14


1st Set (1st song missing): Ain't Gonna' Hurt No More / Angry Man / Letter To My Girlfriend / Ridin'
Alabama / Let's Have A Party / Leave My Soul Alone-One More Cup Of Coffee-Minefield Of My Mind
For No One / You Know You're Wrong /
Carelessness
2nd Set: Hideaway / The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Yes, It's You / Sweet Little Girl
Here I Come / Screenwriter's Blues /
My Way Down / It Comes To Me Naturally / The Beverly Hillbillies
Blitzkrieg Bop - You Suck! / Cleopatra - Like Eric
Encore: People Say

I missed the first song as I walked quickly from the parking lot trying to set up my tape deck while electrified CDG notes blasted from the inside. The song ended as I entered the Crystola Roadhouse, but judging by the smell of burnt wood lingering in the air, my guess is it was a scorcher like "Jump The Trane" or some other jumpin' instrumental! This is my favorite kind of club, one built out of wood, but unfortunately it has a squirrely layout when it comes to seats. If you don't get there early, you end up waaay back. I had to work until 5:00 and then picked up Rev. Bob in Denver and hauled ass down to Colorado Springs. We hung a right up into the mountains and zig-zagged our way past Pikes Peak and Manitou Cave and up to the Crystola Roadhouse, powersliding sideways into a parking space in a cloud of dust. With no opening band we were lucky to have only missed the first song. The place was packed, but luckily for us Chris let us have the band table up front to the left of the stage - and when I say up front, I mean up front, so that Chris's amp is a mere two feet away and he is actually playing to your side or even past you. His vocals are more distant and the drums are more natural and less amplified. The bass is secondary to it all and what you end up hearing is Chris's guitar first and foremost. It was an amazing, intimate lesson in guitar playing. I don't think, out of all the shows I've ever seen, that I have ever been this close to his guitar amps. I heard songs in a whole new way and heard things in songs I hadn't heard before, things you can only hear if you are right next to the amp. You could hear his fingers on the strings and how stunningly intricate the solos were and how imaginative and powerful his playing is. Truly, one of the greatest guitarists ever! The band played some new material from "Lucky 13" such as "Ain't Gonna' Hurt No More' and "You Know You're Wrong". Being a huge Ramones fan, I was smacked upside the head by the machinegun burst of "Blitzkrieg Bop" which somersaulted into "You Suck!" The band closed the show with a superbadass "People Say" that elevated the whole building three inches above the ground. Walking back to the car afterwards, Bob noticed a perfect footprint on my ass that mysteriously matched the tread on the shoes Chris Duarte wore that night! Hot damn tamale, what a show!

- photos by Reverend Bob, review of Chris's amp by Craig Keyzer

...and check out Rev. Bob's video of this show HERE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE BUFFALO ROSE
Golden, Colorado
12/5/14


I drank another cup of coffee on my way crosstown to the Buffalo Rose in Golden, snuggled up against the foothills of the Rocky Mountains and home of Coors beer. This was the first time Chris had played this venue and by the time I arrived, the place was filled and every seat was gone - and it's a big club! It also had a big stage which was tastefully backlit by a giant screen. Luckily, Reverend Bob had saved me a seat, having had to fend off numerous zombies who wanted the extra chair. I got there just in the nick of time as the band walked onstage. There was a banister just behind my head and I set up my tapedeck on a tripod and hit start. The band blasted out of the gates, the sound loud and well mixed. As I sat back down in the chair, the one the Rev. had defended so graciously, I showed my thanks by drifting off to sleep with my eyes open (that's what happens when you're a postal worker during the humongous Xmas crunch, you sit in a chair for one second and it's lights out!). In a spinning whirlpool of music I floated on my back, drifting deeper and deeper with each passing note. Hell, I probably even snored in 4/4 time! I only remember vivid blobs of color that came and went with the music, briefly taking human form and then dissolving away. The music was a warm shimmering, ephereal wall of sound - at once familiar and other times distant and fluid. As I orbited beyond Pluto I heard a big, fat, smokin' jam with Chris and a well-dressed young man named Austin Young. They played together once before at the Crystola Roadhouse and Chris graciously let him shine on a 17-minute jam session. This time out Chris just blazed him. It'll be cool to see what Austin's got up his sleeve a few years from now, he's a good player. The full-out atomic heat of "Like Eric" jolted me back to the real world. Every tiny molecule of sleep was wrung out of my thick skull with that one! I have foggy recollections of what the band played, but I know it must've been intense by the hushed murmurs of the stunned audience afterwards as they shook their heads in amazement and shuffled out into the night. I stood up, stretched and grabbed my tapedeck. Turkey feathers! With a pissed-at-myself "Damn!" I noticed that the pause button had been on the entire time! Smooth move, Bonehead! And to be honest, I was countin' on that deck to, uh, "refresh my memory" and also provide a setlist of the night's proceedings! Oh well, some days it's chicken and some days it's feathers, but with CDG there's always another show (in fact they'll be here in May)! Reverend Bob sent me some photos from the show. Luckily, I have a friend, a brain surgeon, who hooked me up to some kind of resonance machine, put a helmet on my head, goggles over my eyes, and vaseline on my forehead and, with a slight twinge of electricity vibrating thru my skull, rewound my memories back to the show and printed out some of the blobs of color I dreamed about. He called them electroencephalagrams and they eerily match Bob's photos (since we were sitting side-by-side)...strange but true!

- photos by Reverend Bob, electroencephalagram images and dream sequence by Craig Keyzer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here's some red-hot videos from this show:

Who Loves You (with Austin Young)

Minefield In My Mind

Crazy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STONE CHURCH MUSIC CLUB
Newmarket, New Hampshire
11/22/14

Great venue, so glad I was able to attend this show. 4 nights in a row and it didn't get old. Ending with "Are You Experienced" definitely sent us home with a smile. Good times!

- notes and photos by John Dadalt

And here's Screenwriter's Blues from this show:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE ELKS LODGE
Franklin, New Hampshire
11/21/14

- photos by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE HUNGRY TIGER
Manchester, Connecticut
11/20/14

Some shots of the band reducing the Hungry Tiger to a pile of rubble!

- note and photos by John Dadalt

And here's some videos to prove it:

Drivin' South

You Suck

 

 

 

 

CHAN'S
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
11/19/14

A few shots of the CDG tearing up Chan's!

- note and photos by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE 21st SALOON
Omaha, Nebraska
8/11/14


1st Set: Jump The Trane / Naturally / Crazy / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It's You / Still I Think Of You
Get Outta' My Way / The Scrawl / One More Cup Of Coffee / Minefield Of My Mind / For No One
Angry Man / Hard Mind / Carelessness
2nd Set: C-Butt Rock / Hideaway-Peter Gunn Theme / The Best That I Can Do / Crazy For Your Love
Open Up Your Back Door (Turn Your Lights Down Low) / You Suck / Screenwriter's Blues
Star-Spangled Banner / Let's Have A Party / Letter To My Girlfriend / Big-Legged Woman / Sweet Little Girl
My Way Down / Cleopatra-Like Eric
Encore: People Say

Wow! Three CDG shows in three months - a new record for this guy (but it pales beside the roadtripping exploits of some fellow Duarte fans)! I didn't make it for the first few songs (thanks to Traci McNally for keeping a setlist until I arrived and to John McKnight for turning over his setlist to me after the show). With absolutely no speeding, I made it from Martell, Nebraska to the 21st Saloon in Omaha in about 50 minutes just as "Still I Think Of You" was starting up. This version of the Chris Duarte Group has proved themselves to be a tight-knit team, cranking out the songs seemingly without effort. John McKnight did a great job driving the engine from the back seat and Dustin Sargent anchored it all with his solid basslines. With a mixture of songs from the upcoming "Lucky 13" album, and old standbys, CDG kept the crowd happy including a steady stream of dancers. Some highpoints of the night included the instrumental "Minefield Of My Mind" following on the heels of "One More Cup Of Coffee" - it was full of flaming guitarwork that swept over the place like a firestorm. "For No One", a Beatles cover, was a quiet break and a broken guitarstring during "Hard Mind" (which was a play called from the huddle - not on the original setlist) allowed the rhythm section to shine. Another broken string during "Cleopatra" gave them another moment in the spotlight, playing around, quoting different songs (I swear I heard some riffs from "Brick House"). Another spontaneous call was 'The Star-Spangled Banner". As always, "Cleopatra" and "Like Eric" make a rockin' ending to the show. But wait! There's More! The encore was "People Say", followed by a long meandering instrumental - it sounded like it included "Stratus"! All in all it was an incredible show that lasted over three-and-a-half hours.

- review and photos by Thomas Joyce

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE ZOO BAR
Lincoln, Nebraska
8/14/14


1st Set: Birthday / Slapstack / Letter To My Girlfriend / Get Outta' My Way / It Comes To Me Naturally
Still I Think Of You / Crazy / For No One / Let's Have a Party
One More Cup of Coffee-Minefield of Your Mind / Crazy For Your Love / Drivin' South
2nd Set: Make Me Feel So Right / I Ain't Got You / Leave My Soul Alone / Screenwriter's Blues
My Way Down / The Ballad of Kohima Ridge / Jump The Trane
Encore: Manic Depression

CDG was back at the legendary Zoo Bar tonight, after an absence of less than two months! Chris has been playing here for close to 30 years! It was a great show, the band had it together and sounded great. Kenny and some fellow Iowans made the trek and the band opened with The Beatles' "Birthday" in honor of Kenny's birthday. Lots of extended solos during "Slapstack", "Still I Think Of You", and "Drivin' South". A long Joe Satriani-esque intro to "Crazy" and a now-standard psychedelic intro to "One More Cup Of Coffee". When the band came back for the encore, Chris said he would play "one more short song", then did the intro to "Ina-gadda-davida", "Alice's Restaurant" and "Dazed And Confused" before launching into "Manic Depression". It was a nice mix of old and new, with the band setting the place on fire. They'll be back in Nebraska for a show in September at The 21st Saloon.

- review and photos by Thomas Joyce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE TOAD TAVERN
Denver, Colorado
8/2/14


1st Set: Jump The Trane / Crazy For Your Love / The Ballad Of Kohima Ridge / I Bucked It Up / Yes, It's You
Crazy / Leave My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee - Minefield / For No One / Screenwriter's Blues
Open Up Your Back Door / The Best That I Can Do / It Comes To Me Naturally
2nd Set: Show Me That You Want It / Sweet Little Girl / Here I Come / Manic Depression / Angry Man
Azul Ezell / Bottle Blues / My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric /
Encore: Carelessness

The Chris Duarte Group always puts on a muscular, over-the-top performance whenever they get a good night's sleep and don't have much driving to do that day. Such was the case when they moseyed on down into Denver from Dillon, a mere 60 miles away. Add in some sugar from homemade chocolate chip cookies and you have the recipe for a particularly kinetic show. Kicking things off was a new instrumental called "Jump The Trane" followed by another new song "Crazy For Your Love" from the upcoming new CD "Lucky 13" due to be released in October. It should be a great album if these cuts are any indication! Chris then did the rarely-played "Ballad Of Kohima Ridge" which was a nice surprise. Next came a series of jumpin' R&B tunes, performed with gusto, all of which ended on such powerful notes that I thought maybe the guitar was gonna' explode and implant shrapnel into the foreheads of those in front! The band then started to float into the sky on a wispy psychedelic groove as they leaned into "Leave My Soul Alone" and veered into "One More Cup Of Coffee" which had a new surprise instrumental tacked onto the end called "Minefield". It reminded me of The Who's "Sparks" on the Tommy album as it ricocheted around the room! The band then lovingly covered The Beatles "For No One", but from then on it was a blistering string of jukejoint songs: "Open Up Your Back Door", "The Best That I Can Do", "It Comes To Me Naturally", "Show Me That You Want It", "Sweet Little Girl", and "Here I Come" followed by a punch-to-the-gut version of "Manic Depression"! Another rarely-played song was "Azul Ezell" in which the guitar was more like a flamethrower! This exhausting, brainsqueezer of a concert ended with the incredible guitar throwdown "Carelessness", afterwhich I slowly oozed off of my seat down to the floor and, like the Blob, slithered to my car...

- review and craptacular photos by Craig Keyzer

 

 

 

 

 

 

DILLON AMPHITHEATER
Dillon, Colorado
8/1/14


1st Set: Hideaway / Angry Man / Show Me That You Want It / Crazy / Ridin' / Leave My Soul Alone
Screenwriter's Blues / Big-Legged Woman / Jump The Trane
2nd Set: The Best That I Can Do / Yes, It's You / I'll Never Know / For No One / Crazy For Your Love
My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric /
Encore: People Say

This show was the band's first stop in Colorado and was a free show put on by the mountain town of Dillon (meaning it had an early start time). Rev. Bob, Rick and myself left the summer heat of Denver that afternoon and headed west into the mountains. The Eisenhower Tunnel, a marvel of engineering built in 1954, is a long tunnel that bores through the Continental Divide. Oftentimes the weather is completely different when you come out the other end of it. Such was the case as we popped out into a foggy rainstorm that was relentless as we descended down to the lakeside town of Dillon. Exiting off of the highway I saw a most unusual sight (sorry, I didn't think to take a picture) - a black-robed man with a blinking red belt was holding up a large cross and screaming at the sky at the intersection as we waited for the light to turn green. There he was, stomping around in the cold rain, his white Amish-looking beard pointing to the heavens, holding up his cross and bellowing. A pretty impressive display of conviction I must say! We eyed the sky and it didn't look like it was going to let up anytime soon. Showtime was in a little over an hour at the lakeside amphitheater so we decided to go get some BBQ before the show. After eating some smoked meat we came outside to no rain and a cloudy sky that was breaking up! That guy in the black robe and blinking red belt must've been a Chris Duarte Group fan and was beseeching The Lord to stop the rain in time for the show. It worked and proved that CDG music is approved on high. The amphitheater was a small lakeside venue with an incredible view of the lake and the mountains. A small crowd of locals were beginning to fill the place as the sun set over the mountains. The band came on and opened with "Hideaway" which I hadn't heard in awhile. They were tight and polished and played a revved-up set of Old & New including some songs to be released this Fall on the new album "Lucky 13". My fave was a cool new one called "Crazy For Your Love" with some inspired playing by Mr. Duarte. I even got to hear "Big-Legged Woman" for the first time in years (y'all get to hear it all the time, but Chris never plays it when I'm at a show because of a bad review I wrote many moons ago in which I wished he would retire that song) which was a nice surprise! This was a short and sweet show, played perfectly, and we all looked forward to tomorrow night's show at The Toad back in Denver.

- lame review and photos by Craig Keyzer

 

 

 

I was ready! The Chris Duarte Group was coming back through Colorado for a secound time in less than a year. This was going to be a real treat! Outdoors at the new Dillon Amphitheater under the stars! About half way into the day as I was getting ready and the clouds rolled in and it started to rain - a lot. Undeterred, my cohorts in crime, Craig Keyzer and Rick Shaw, and myself headed up into the Rocky Mountains only to get stuck in a huge traffic jam on Interstate 70, and it continued to pour down. Still undeterred, we took a side road and by-passed a lot of the traffic jam and once again we were on our way into the hills! It's OK I thought, we're professionals, we've dealt with this before. After a quick stop for some barbeque, we arrived at the Amphitheater and the sun peaked out very slightly from behind the clouds and the rain stopped! We got there early and had a great time talking to the guys and listening to stories from the road. The weather was clearing up as they hit the stage, opening with a ripping version of "Hideaway" before going into an assortment of new material and old favorites. The band was sounding supertight like a well-oiled machine. Two sets with a cool version of "People Say" for the encore! It was a great night and I'm pretty sure a good time was had by all! Videos from the show are posted below. Be sure to give 'em a thumbs up if you like what you see!
Hideaway

I'll Never Know
Crazy
For No One
Big-Legged Woman
Show Me That You Want It
The Best I Can Do
Leave My Soul Alone - Screenwriter's Blues
My Way Down
Cleopatra - Like Eric
People Say

Thanks for watching!

- review by Reverend Bob, grainy out-of-focus photo by Craig Keyzer

 

 

 

IRISH DISTRICT MUSIC & ARTS FESTIVAL
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
6/21/14

These great photos were taken by Phillip Smith

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE ZOO BAR
Lincoln, Nebraska
6/19/14


1st Set: C-Butt Rock / Ridin' / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It's You / Screenwriter's Blues
Open Up Your Back Door / Sweet Little Girl / Leave My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee
Let's Have A Party / I Bucked It Up / Carelessness
2nd Set: Shuffle In D / The Best That I Can Do / Big-Legged Woman / Angry Man
I Love You So Madly / Make Me Feel So Right / Hold Back the Tears / Crazy / My Way Down
It Comes To Me Naturally / Cleopatra - Like Eric
Encore: People Say

After an absence of more than two years, Chris Duarte and his band of merry men arrived back in Lincoln. I've seen the band a few times since, at Knucklehead's in Kansas City and last year in Burlington Iowa, but there's nothing likes some hard rockin' blues in The Zoo Bar! I was also warmed to see that the photo on the concert poster was one that I had taken at Knucklehead's two years ago! Chris started off by paying tribute to The Zoo Bar as one of a trio of bars that consistently booked him back in his early days and then launched into the opening song "C-Butt Rock". Chris and the band played a combination of both old and new songs and mixed in danceable numbers with instrumentals that pretty near burned off our eyebrows. For me the highlights were the first set ending "Carelessness" (which sounds just as good without the violin that accompanies Chris on the CD) and the encore "People Say" which included a long solo and forays into riffs that were at once familiar yet brand new. There were several songs that were unfamiliar to me, which I assume will find their way on to the new CD. All said, a great show, and I look forward to the band's return in August!

- review and photos by Tom Joyce

 


 

 

 

 

 

THE TUPELO MUSIC HALL
Londonderry, New Hampshire
5/30/14


Shuffle In D / Yes, It's You / Open Up Your Back Door / Outta' My Way
Show Me That You Want It / Sweet Little Girl / I Bucked It Up
My Soul Alone / One More Cup Of Coffee / It Comes To Me Naturally
Letter To My Girlfriend / Angry Man / Big-Legged Woman
Screenwriter's Blues / My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric
Encore: The Best That I Can Do / Hold Back The Tears
I Love You So Madly / People Say

- photos by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE HUNGRY TIGER
Manchester, Connecticut
5/29/14


1st Set: Slapstak / What Can I Do? / Big-Legged Woman / Yes, It's You / Show Me That You Want It
Crazy / Bottle Blues / Here I Come / Sweet Little Girl / Leave My Soul Alone / Fire's Gone Out
Angry Man / I Bucked It Up / Shuffle In D
2nd Set: Let's Have A Party / Let's Have A Party / Do The Romp / Ridin' / I'll Never Know
Love You So Madly / Screenwriter's Blues / Kohima Ridge / For No One / Open Up Your Back Door
Sundown Blues / My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric

More cool photos from John Dadalt!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE BIDWELL'S HOUSE
Coventry, Connecticut
5/24/14


1st Set: Birthday / Bb Blues / Hideaway / Big-Legged Woman
Outta' My Way / Letter To My Girlfriend / Ridin'
Open Up Your Back Door / Peace In Mississippi / Leave Her Be
Angry Man / Borrowed Love / Just Kissed My Baby
It Comes To Me Naturally / Scrawl / For No One
Let's Have A Party / What Can I Do? / Tailspin Headwhack
Shiloh / Still I Think Of You / Crazy / C-Butt Rock
2nd Set: Do The Romp / Kohima Ridge
One More Cup Of Coffee / My Way Down / Sundown Blues
Wish You Were Here / Drivin' South / Star-Spangled Banner

This is from Mel Bidwell's 60th birthday party last night. Killer show...almost 4 hours of music, including the entire "Texas Sugar/Strat Magik" disc! I grabbed "Peace In Mississippi" with my phone and uploaded it to YouTube. Great stuff...enjoy!

- Mark McKay, with photos by John Dadalt

...and here's another YouTube link from this show!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CHAN'S
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
5/23/14


1st Set: Shuffle In D / Angry Man / Show Me That You Want It
Crazy / I Bucked It Up / Fire's Gone Out
Open Up Your Back Door / Sweet Little Girl
Leave My Soul Alone / Kohima Ridge / For No One
Yes, It's You / Leave Her Be / Azul Ezell
2nd Set: Hideaway / The Best That I Can Do
Letter To My Girlfriend / Watch Out / I Love You So Madly
Hold Back The Tears / Satisfy / Carelessness
Let's Have A Party / Make Me Feel So Right / My Way Down
Cleopatra - Like Eric

- photo by John Dadalt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MOONDOG'S
Blawnox, Pennsylvania
5/18/14


What a gig! Several brand new songs, Beatles and Jimi tunes I'd never heard him do.....amazing! Man Oh Man! And that was just one gig. I so wish that I could have seen more. Enjoy the video!

- Arthur Creech

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE 702 BAR
Las Vegas, Nevada
1/23/14

Here's some photos of the show taken by Bob Burchess. This was the band's first time playing at this club.

 

 

 

THE CRYSTOLA ROADHOUSE
Crystola, Colorado
1/18/14


1st Set: New Instrumental / Show Me That You Want It / Yes, It’s You / Still I Think Of You / Crazy
Tailspin Headwhack / It Comes To Me Naturally / I Bucked It Up / It's Quittin' Time / Ridin'
Open Up Your Back Door / One More Cup Of Coffee / Carelessness

2nd Set: Big-Legged Woman / The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Leave My Soul Alone
Sundown Blues / Screenwriter's Blues / Manic Depression / Catfish Blues / My Way Down / People Say

Here's some video clips of the show that were shot by Reverend Bob:

IT'S QUITTIN' TIME

RIDIN'

 

 

 

 

 

BART'S RECORD SHOP
In-Store Performance
Boulder, Colorado
1/18/14


Big-Legged Woman
Sweet Little Girl
It's Quittin' Time
(1st time performed live)
Just Kissed My Baby
Show Me That You Want It
Open Up Your Back Door
My Way Down

Here's some video clips of the show posted by Reverend Bob:

BIG-LEGGED WOMAN

SWEET LITTLE GIRL

JUST KISSED MY BABY

SHOW ME THAT YOU WANT IT

MY WAY DOWN

-photos by Rick Shaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE TOAD TAVERN
Denver, Colorado
1/17/14


1st Set: New Instrumental / Show Me That You Want It / Ridin' / Yes, It’s You
Scrawl / Open Up Your Back Door / Crazy / Outta' My Way / I Bucked It Up
Sweet Little Girl / Just Kissed My Baby / Let's Have A Party / Live For Tomorrow
Do The Romp / Carelessness
(1st time performed live)

2nd Set: Hideaway / Screenwriter's Blues / Tailspin Headwhack
The Best That I Can Do / Make Me Feel So Right / Bottle Blues
Letter To My Girlfriend / Watch Out
Leave My Soul Alone - Blue Jean Outlaw
(1st time performed live)
My Way Down / Cleopatra - Like Eric /
Encore: Wish You Were Here

The Chris Duarte Group pounded out an intense 3-hour show after driving over 600 miles from Missouri to Colorado (the day before they had also driven over 600 miles from Atlanta to Missouri!). This was my first time seeing drummer John McKnight and I was blown away. Not since seeing Frosty play back in 1995 has there been a drummer with such power and finesse. John has been drumming a long time and is a real pro, a drummer's drummer. He adds another gear to the band's sound and also contributes background vocals on several songs such as "Outta' My Way" and "I Bucked It Up". It's always great to see Dustin Sargent on the bass. He is such a natural fit to Chris' playing and he and John McKnight make a lethal rhythm section for Chris to play with, against, and on top of.
Sporting his gold-flaked guitar and shorter hair-do, Chris eased into the show with a new instrumental track I hadn't heard before. He then downshifted into several newer songs and never looked back. Everyone was sweating by the second or third song. Chris always plays at his best when he's backed by a solid, confident band, one that frees him up to just play and has his back on each and every song. The entire show was riveting, intense, and professionally played with power to burn. They played so hard it was emotionally draining to just watch, kind of like watching MMA in the octagon. Several times I just closed my eyes in order to listen to the song and not watch the musical storm onstage. Paul Barnstable from the band Another Mother sat in on a couple songs and went toe-to-toe with Chris. It wasn't just a throwdown, they complimented each other very nicely. The first set ended with a free-form instrumental that took me awhile to realize that it was "Carelessness" but without the electric violin! This was the first time this song has been performed live and we were treated to another debut performance of "Blue Jean Outlaw" which was very effectively tacked onto the end of "Leave My Soul Alone"! This combination worked really well together and made for a poignant ending. Several songs had extended solos and the 3-hour show ended with a nice version of Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here". I felt like a wrung-out towel after watching the Chris Duarte Group tear up the Toad and I'm sure they were exhausted and looking forward to a good night's sleep and a day with very little driving! A great show by a killer band!

Here's some video clips of the show provided by Reverend Bob:

RIDIN'

SCRAWL

OPEN UP YOUR BACK DOOR

-review by Craig Keyzer, photos by Rick Shaw

 


Hey y'all, remember to confirm the shows before roadtrippin'!

 

HOME | DATES | ETC. | REVIEWS | INTERVIEWS | ROADNOTES | ALBUM REVIEWS TAPE TRIPS | HISTORY | DISCOGRAPHY | ARCHIVES | STUFF | L14261 | LINKS